February 28, 2013

Page and Plant - Flying Dreamers (1998)

Jimmy Page and Robert Plant along the U.S. tour for the album Walking into Clarksdale.
This show at the Great Woods Amphitheatre from July 14, 1998 has been available on a release called Flying Dreamers with this cover:

Sound Quality: 9.5

Source: Soundboard

Track List:  

Disc 1:
01 -  Intro
02 -  Wanton Song
03 -  Bring it on Home
04 -  Heartbreaker
05 -  Ramble On
06 -  Walking into Clarksdale
07 -  No Quarter
08 -  Shining in the Light
09 -  Going to California
10 -  Tangerine
11 -  Gallows Pole
12 -  Heart in Your Hand

Disc 2:
01 -  Babe I'm Gonna Leave You
02 -  How Many More Times
03 -  Most High
04 -  Whole Lotta Love
05 -  Thank You
06 -  Rock and Roll

MP3 pt1
MP3 pt2

February 24, 2013

The Band - New Orleans Jazz & Heritage Festival (1994)

A performance, and what a great one, by The Band at the New Orleans Jazz & Heritage Festival.
This was on April, 22, 1994 and they opened for The Allman Brothers Band. 
I also found a documentary with extensive footage of this concert here.

Sound Quality: 9.5

Source: Soundboard

Track List:

Disc 1
01 Introduction
02 Caledonia
03 Remedy
04 Crazy Mama
05 WS Walcott Medicine Show
06 Stuff Ya Gotta Watch
07 Blind Willie Mctell
08 It Makes No Difference
09 Rag Mama Rag
10 Atlantic City

01 Caledonia Mission
02 Mystery Train
03 Many Rivers To Cross (instrumental)
04 Don't Do It
05 Life Is A Carnival
06 The Weight
07 Shape I'm In
08 applause
09 Garth Madness
10 Blues Stay Away From Me

FLAC pt1
FLAC pt2

February 21, 2013

Lurrie Bell - Halifax Jazz Festival 2010 Canada Live

Once again we got the blues for you thanks to our friend the rippin frog.

Lurrie Bell - Halifax Jazz Festival 2010 Canada Live (CBC Podcast)

Bell started playing guitar at the age of six, and in his teens he polished his skills playing with the legends of Chicago blues scene including Eddy Clearwater, Big Walter Horton and Eddie Taylor.
Bell in Paris, May, 30, 1980
In the mid 1970s, he went on to join Koko Taylor's Blues Machine and he toured with the band for four years.
He made his recording debut in 1977 appearing on his father's album Heartaches and Pain and also on Eddie C. Campbell's King of the Jungle. It was around that time that he formed The Sons of Blues with musicians including Billy Branch on harmonica.
Three tracks of the band's recordings were featured in the Alligator Records compilation Living Chicago Blues Vol. 3 released in 1978.
In 1989 he released his first solo effort, Everybody Wants To Win, on JSP Records.
Though Bell's career appeared to be headed in the right direction, drawing attention of the blues fans around the world as a young prodigy of the blues, he battled emotional problems and drug abuse for many years, which kept him away from performing on regular basis.
He began a comeback in 1995 with the well-received album Mercurial Son, his first of several from the Delmark label.
A series of albums followed thereafter, and he started to perform more frequently in the Chicago club and blues festival circuits.

Track Listing:
1 I Need You So Bad  Sam Maghett (composer)
2 Everything Is Going To Be Alright  Walter Jacobs (composer)
3 Sweet Home Chicago  Robert Johnson (composer)
4 Let's Talk About Love   Ray Agee (composer)
5 Messin With The Kid   Mel London (composer)

Lurrie Bell - vocals, guitar
Willie Hayes - drums
Melvin Smith - bass
Daryl Coutts - piano, organ


February 18, 2013

The Blues Band - BBC Maida Vale Studios 2008

Filling a request here for music from The Blues Band. It's a Christmas Special recorded at the BBC Maida Vale Studios on December 2008.
With guests as Pee Wee Ellis, Mike Sanchez and Elkie Brooks it was a broadcast on The Paul Jones show on BBC Radio 2.

Sound Quality: 9.5

Source: FM Broadcast

Track List:  
01 Blue Christmas
02 I Am The Blues
03 Moving On
04 Ham
05 Baby Shame
06 Sick & Tired
07 Can't Hold On Much Longer
08 Crossroads
09 Slippin' & Slidin'
10 Blues a la LS
11 Hate To See You Go (Come Back Baby)
12 I Feel Alright Again
13 Red House
14 Baby What You Want Me To Do
15 Shake Rattle & Roll

FLAC pt1
FLAC pt2

February 15, 2013

The Kinks - Riviera Nightclub Chicago 1987

Time to think and hear The Kinks, an excellent recording taken from the Think Visual U.S. tour.
What we have here it's only the part of the concert that was broadcast but for me any live Kinks is good.

Sound Quality: 9.5

Source: FM Broadcast

Track List:
01 Do It Again
02 Low Budget
03 Come Dancing
04 Working at the Factory
05 Think Visual
06 Lola
07 State of Confusion
08 All Day and All of the Night
09 Celluloid Heroes
10 You Really Got Me

February 11, 2013

The Eagles - Los Angeles Forum 1980

The Eagles at the Los Angeles Forum on March 4, 1980 during the Long Run tour.
First time here with this band and with a fine quality recording that had its origin on the archives of a very reputed sound engineer that has passed away some years ago.

Sound Quality: 9

Source: Soundboard
Track List:  

Disc 1

01. Hotel California
02. Already Gone
03. In The City
04. King Of Hollywood
05. The Sad Cafe
06. Lyin' Eyes
07. I Can't Tell You Why

Disc 2

01. Those Shoes
02. Heartache Tonight
03. One Of These Nights
04. Turn To Stone
05. The Long Run
06. Life's Been Good
07. Life In The Fast Lane
08. Carol (incomplete)

FLAC pt1
FLAC pt2

February 7, 2013

Fleetwood Mac - Wallingford 1975

Fleetwood Mac recorded in front of a small audience at the Trodd Nossel Studios in Wallingford, Connecticut.
This is from September 23, 1975 a few months after releasing a record with the bands name that is also known as White Album and turned to be highly successful saleswise.

Sound Quality: 9.5

Source: FM broadcast

Track List:
01 - Get Like You Used To Be
02 - Station Man
03 - Spare Me A Little
04 - Rhiannon
05 - Why
06 - Landslide
07 - Over My Head
08 - I'm So Afraid
09 - Oh Well
10 - The Green Manalishi
11 - World Turning