February 17, 2015

V.A. East Coast Blues Summit (2011) Feat: Morgan Davis, Matt Andersen, Garrett Mason, Linda Carvery, Carson Downey, Kim Dunn

East Coast Blues Summit: 
Morgan Davis, Matt Andersen, Garrett Mason, 
Linda Carvery, Carson Downey, Kim Dunn.

Recorded: Mar. 10, 2011

Venue: CBC Studio 1, Halifax, NS

The Canadian East Coast has been a hotbed of blues music for,at least, the past fifty years. Many styles and influences...country blues, swing, urban and jump, to name a few, have contributed to what is now an east coast sound and approach.

CBC in the Maritimes decided the time was right to showcase this wealth of blues and to produce a musical special for radio, television and online. The East Coast Blues Summit brings together those influences, styles, and an incredible group of Maritime singers and musicians on one stage performing some of the music that inspired them as well as originals.

Matt Andersen, Morgan Davis, Linda Carvery, Garrett Mason, Theresa Mallenfant and Carson Downey are all award winning artists with deep blues roots and emotional delivery. The band is a special group of players, all being recording artists in their own right.

From the very first notes of rehearsals right through to showtime there was an atmosphere of excitement and joy to be playing together.

Track Listing for this Concert

1    Chicken Shack     Jimmy Smith (composer)    4:51
2    Katie Mae     Lightnin' Hopkins (composer)    5:03
3    Make Me A Pallet On Your Floor     W.C. Handy, Bunk Johnson (composers)    4:21
4    CC Rider traditional    4:45
5    Before You Accuse Me Take A Look At Yourself     Elias McDaniel (composer)    4:58
6    If I Could Be With You     James P. Johnson, Henry Creamer (composers)    5:05
7    I Feel So Good    Big Bill Broonzy (composer)    3:47
8    Sure As You Live     Morgan Davis (composer)    5:15
9    VooDoo Woman     Koko Taylor (composer)    4:51
10    Remedy     Garrett Mason (composer)    4:40
11    Little By Little     Junior Wells (composer)    4:04
12    I Don't Want To Give In     Matt Andersen, Colin Linden (composers)    3:27
13    I Never Met A Woman (Quite Like You)     Carson Downey (composer)    4:15
14    [band introduction]    2:35
15    The More You Lie To Me     Artie White (composer)    4:52

I recorded this from a CBC radio/podcast show
as a wave  cut track with Audacity


No comments: